Board of Directors

The NCANA Board of Directors consists of 9 active members (CRNAs) including 5 NCANA officers (president, president elect, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer) and 4 district directors. The officers comprise the NCANA Executive Committee.

The Board of Directors also includes 2 student registered nurse anesthetists (SRNAs). These associate members serve as non-voting student representatives and are appointed by the Board on a rotating basis.

Learn more about the Board of Directors and Executive Committee in the NCANA Bylaws.


President: Stacy Yancey, MSNA, CRNA

Employer: Carolina Anesthesiology
Location: High Point, NC

What I like most about the NCANA: My favorite thing about NCANA is the opportunity to network with other CRNAs and stay up to date on current practices and research.


President-Elect: Sherry Bernardo, DNP, MHA, CRNA

Employer: Atrium Health
Location: Iron Station, NC

What I like most about NCANA: The advocacy for CRNA practice in the state of NC and the visibility that many NC CRNAs portray in the public domain.

Vice President: Elena N. Meadows, DNP, CRNA 

Employer: Faculty, Carolinas Medical Center Nurse Anesthesia Program/UNC Charlotte
Location: Charlotte, NC 

What I like most about NCANA: The NCANA provides wonderful opportunities for CRNA networking, education, and advocacy as well as support and visibility for all CRNAs and SRNAs across the state of North Carolina.

Treasurer: Christine Bazik Kress, PhD, CRNA 

Employer: Regional Anesthesia, PLLC
Location: Raleigh, NC 

What like most about NCANA: I appreciate NCANA's commitment to promoting and advancing CRNA practice in NC by advocating for the profession as whole, connecting CRNA's across the state, and providing leadership development opportunities to individual members.


Secretary: Megan Conner, PhD, CRNA

Employer: Conner Anesthesia, PLLC
Location: Battleboro, NC

What I like most about NCANA: Their proactive approach in advocating for CRNA practice

District 1 Director: Kasey Morgan, MS, CRNA 

Employer: Duke University Hospital
Location: Raleigh, NC 

What I like most about NCANA: I love that the NCANA helps me connect with CRNAs and SRNAs across North Carolina as well as stay current on education and practice.

District 2 Director: Bill Cobb, MSNA, CRNA 

Employer: Carolina Anesthesiology, P.A.
Location: High Point, NC 

What I like most about NCANA: I love the community of CRNAs and SRNAs that advocate for our profession and hope to get more people involved in the continued work of showcasing the amazing care CRNAs provide for patients in our North Carolina communities.

District 3 Director: Tara Shumard, DNAP, CRNA 

Employer: Atrium Health
Location: Charlotte

What I like most about NCANA: How engaged the team members are in promoting and advocating for our profession. The NCANA is committed to the education of CRNAs to ensure the safest patient care. I believe that the NCANA has the best intentions when advocating for both CRNAs and their patients. 

District 4 Director: Ian Hewer, PhD, CRNA 

Employer: Western Carolina University
Location: Asheville, NC 

What I like most about NCANA: Proactive advocacy for all NC CRNAs

Student Representative: Kasie O’Connell, BSN, CEN, CCRN, SRNA

Location: Wake Forest University - Winston Salem, NC

What I like most about NCANA: That it seeks to engage everyone in the profession and makes me feel like I'm a part of a big team.


Student Representative: Morgan Barnes, SRNA

Location: UNCG - Greensboro, NC

What I like most about NCANA: The opportunities to connect CRNAs and SRNAs across the state 


Interested in serving on an NCANA committee?  Please complete this form and let us know which one.

AANA Foundation
Directors - Cliff Gonzales and Ida Goodnight

Education & Research
Co-Chairs - Allison Teeples and Deb Flahrety
Student Reps: Zachary Smith & Christine Parrilli

Federal Political Director
Chair - Ian Hewer

Government Relations
Co-Chairs - Elena Meadows and Steve Michaux-Smith
Committee Members: Ryan Holton, Bill Wade, Ken Thompson, Jessica Szydlowski-Pittman, Marisa Pino-Barreras 

Public Relations
Chair - Caroline Killmon
Committee Members: Ryan Holton, Chris Rogge, Todd Stevens, Courtney Brown

Chair - Christy Obsorne
Committee Member: Kasey Morgan

Political Action 
Committee Members: Ty Weber, Abby Badr, Kate Vanderford, Ron DeAtley, Kelly McPherson, Denise Tola, Linda Stone, Michele Richard

Chair - Bob Matthews

Chair - Bob Matthews
Committee Member - Marcia Guine

Chair - Christine Kress
Committee Member: Megan Conner, Trish Tuttle, Sherry Bernardo

Chair - Cathy Briggs

Board Nominated Member - Kristin Henderson
(Chair) District 1 - Kimberly T. Soden
District 2 - Melissa Machan
District 3 - Sekina Showers
District 4 - Amanda Purcell

Peer Assistance & Wellness
State Directors - Linda Stone and Luci New
Committee Members: Emily Funk, Nicholas Glover, Bernadette Johnson

State Reimbursement Specialist
Bob Matthews

LEAD Scholarship Director
Deb Flaherty